December 20, 2009

  • Weekly Photo Challenge, “PART 2- A Quest for Christmas Photos”


     
    Follow the Link to Visit and PLAY the
    Weekly Photo Challenge
     
    this week, for Dec. 04 – Dec. 11, 2009
    “the Christmas Season through New Years” suggested by 
    PhotoGraphics 
     
    PART 2
    A Quest for Christmas Photos

    After Thanksgiving, our plan of attack included a trip to at least one of two candy stores.  We opted for Minges in downtown Cincinnati in hopes we would get good photos of Christmas decorations in town.  The candy purchase went well but lit displays weren’t.  I took lots of photos of the city but Christmas lighting necessitated a night time return trip.  We decided a photographic foray into the wilds of Loveland to photograph favorite homes and anything else concerning Christmas would be good.  Remembering my photos are taken for the most part from a moving car I hope they don’t appear to poorly on your monitor.

     

    ChristmasQuest-TreeForSale-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    Beginning with one of the Christmas Tree lots in the area we see a blow up Frosty waving in hopes of bringing in business.

     

    ChristmasQuest-TreePurchase-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    Frosty did his job well as trees appeared, loaded on tops of cars headed to various homes for the decorating activity.  This particular tree was threatning to fly off the top so we followed a while just in case he got into trouble with a run away tree.

    ChristmasQuest-Gazebo-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    I love a Gazebo and the Loveland Historic Society always decorates inside and out to brighten their buildings for the Christmas season.

    ChristmasQuest-Home1-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    This home sits next to a park we enjoy.  It always takes my eye and I have a lot of photos of it in all weather conditions.  Decorated with green wreaths with red bows it makes a wonderful display that really sets it off with a look of the old South .

    ChristmasQuest-Home-2-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    This is a wonderful big home my mother always wished she could buy.  It’s been sold several times in the years we have lived in Loveland and I’ve never gone into it to see what it’s like inside.  That’s a bit disappointing when I think about it.  For Christmas it is always wrapped with greens and hung with wreaths.  It’s a beauty of an older home with a wonderful porch that wraps around most of the house and the telltale signs indicate there are children living there now who enjoy it.

    ChristmasQuest-HomeLights-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    This light display is actually in Reading where I grew up.  The beautiful blues in the lights caught my eye along with the rest including the angel heralding in the birth of the Christ Child.

    ChristmasQuest-History-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    Either an old fire house or a school house and it sits either on or next to the King’s Island property.  I would love to have this building for myself.  It actually is not decorated, I applied the wreaths and ornaments to the tree with Paint Shop Pro.  It and its wonderful evergreen tree needed some Christmas.

    ChristmasQuest-Nativity-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    There are Nativities in many places, especially in church yards.  Our little town like others has removed the Nativity scene from the city/government lot where it used to sit .  Loveland’s Creche now sits across from the Loveland city buildings in the old train station.  This particular Nativity in my photo sits in the bank lot in Reading. 

    ChristmasQuest-SantaFlight-2009_RSBlain.JPG

    A familiar scene to me, the night drive into Loveland, down the hill and towards our home approximately 3 miles distant.  The flying car and reindeer with Santa are actually a changing display at a home about a mile forward.  I decided to remove thm from their actual position with Paint Shop Pro and fly them into the night at the entrance to Loveland.

    I have many more photos for Christmas.  I’ll add another entry with scenes from downtown Cincinnati including Fountain Square with it’s Christmas lights.  I’ll continue to seperate photos into halfway organized entries as they happen.

    See my Christmas entry part 3 HERE.

    See my Christmas entry part 1 HERE.

    Have a great week and Merry Christmas to all.
    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg

     

Comments (8)

  • You made a Christmas shots hunting , Becca .
    Of course all od those photos are very different and each has its charms .
    To choose , I will choose the one after the gazebo becaiuse I like the red bows and the green wreath contrasting with the white of the house . I find it is simple and beautiful .
     I wish yo you and John a merry Christmas.

    Love
    Michel

  • Typing mistake :please read :  Of course all of those photos…

  • Very Christmassy and inspiring – I’m going to have to dig the big camera out and start shooting!

  • Thank you for your wishes Becca .
    I renew my wishes above for you and John for a happy Christmmas .
    Have a great and safe trip in Virginia and please tell hello to Halie and Eden even if I am not sure they recall me .

    Love

    Michelk

  • Great to see all your Christmas photos Becca. Bang on theme as usual. Nice variation from snowman to nativity. Hope you have a lovely time with Halie over Christmas. ~ Tim

  • Great Christmas photos. I like the Nativity one.

  • @rojobe - Merry Christmas to you and your family.  I forgot to mention what a nice gift your daughter gave you (read about it in your blog).  Thank you so much for the visit and comment always.  Becca

    @tim_beddard - Hi Tim, I’m hoping you give us a taste of Christmas in your part of the world.  Yours is a beautiful place and so much history to wrap in Christmas bows.

    @icepearlz - I am in hopes of a better Nativity photo sometime during the season.  I am partial to their quiet beauty.  Merry Christmas to you and yours. 

  • Beautiful houses where you live Becca, i really must get one of those blow up snowmen

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *