January 13, 2010

  • Weekly Photo Challenge, “Action Figures”


    Follow this Link to Visit and PLAY 
    the Weekly Photo Challenge
     
     
    The current challenge is: 
    “Action Figures”
    suggested by, Homemadehappiness

     
    When I think of action figures quite a few come to mind I grew up with.  All of them are subjects of movies today.  Batman, Superman, Spiderman, the Hulk and others are included.  As I am a big kid at heart and love hero types and most action figures seem to be hero types, I have a lot of movies of the action figure hero in action.  I think I like Batman the best.  I don’t own the Hulk but have a Sean Connery movie, “League of Extraordinary Gentlemen” that reminds me of him.
     
    ActionFigure-Spiderman_RSBlain.JPG
    I am a doll collecter.  Action figures aren’t what I usually collect but I do have Spiderman placed here with a few movies with action figure story lines.  I bought the doll / action figures from a dealer at a market, after seeing the first of the Spiderman series. 
     
     
    ActionFigure-3_RSBlain.JPG
    Most of my action photos come from live action I get to see going to school sports practices specifically for photos.  This football practice was taken a couple of years ago at our high school practice field and have you ever seen so many legs in a pile?
     
     
    ActionFigure-2_RSBlain.JPG
    and a newer one taken in October, girls soccer. 
     
     
    ActionFigure-4_RSBlain.JPG
    All nice looking, active young people in the photos and you can tell she is freezing in this one as she is keeping her hands up in her jacket.  Taken in Virginia over our Christmas visit, this photo is quietly active.  I spotted them as we drove so I grabbed the shot.  I have seen young people use scooters and skate boards for racy sports activities we didn’t begin to think of when I was there age.   Most young people now feel very much at home on wildly racing scooters or skate boards and more.  I love seeing it over and above kids locked into nothing but computer activities.
     
    I enjoyed this challenge and hope I hit on something of interest.
    Thanks for comments, always and keep taking your photos.
    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg
     

Comments (9)

  • Hi Becca!
    I was missing you! =)
    I see you have been busy – your site has a totally different decoration. Snow!
    Your pictures are very nice – that’s a lot of legs =)
    The girls seem very happy!
    I hope you are having a nice week,
    Yours, Isabel

  • @WhataWonderfulNewWorld - Hi Isabelle, It’s nice to be missed.  We have computer problems here and we were gone over Christmas.  My graphics card is dying in this computer so I’ve had a time of it getting this post and my last one for the Christmas challenge done.  I’ve managed both and am glad for it.  I have a new computer and monitor on the way so will be in good shape in a few days, crossing fingers.  Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Year.  Ours was lovely. 

  • Back with a vengeance that’s what I like to see! Nice entry Becca. I think children make excellent action photos, and you have done well to push the shutter control at the right time. ~ Tim

  • Great shots Becca, i admit i thought of the action figures in the first photo too, i will have to see if i can fit in the photo challenge, i now have a job!!!!! i am caretaker in a college since the first of December and the working ours are quite long, they have employed an assistant for me now which will help though, and of course the weekends are too short and i have so much to fit in to those two days, i will try to join in as and when i can though.

  • @Timages - Sounds like you have several things to be thankful for in the New Year, a new computer and a new job.  I’m really happy for you.  Don’t let the hours in the job kill you.  Enjoy the work and the time will fly by.  I would think the new job will provide some photo opportunities either by travel or goings on at work.  I look forward to hearing about your new experience and seeing photos as they happen.  Happy New Year kiddo. 

  • @tim_beddard - what I need to learn Tim is to put my camera settings on to take multiple shots and faster as well as more light.  Then I might get some really good ones.  I liked the football image but up close you can see the shake in the camera.  It was and is still a fun shot, more like an octopus, all those legs.

  • Me too I like what is action and adventures even if this is often in mind !! I like the novels relating adventures . ( would be I still a young boy ?  ) 
    On the photo above the photo of football exprsses well the enegetic actions in this sport ;
     My computer has crashed Wednesday night and has just be repaired this night ( our hour ) . I am late in my visits .

    Love
    Michel

  • If you could go back and be like them, would you? I envy the young their endless energy and their seeming lack of fear (we used to jump bikes when I was young but nothing as daring as I see now) but I also remember it as a time of deep emotions and uncertainties. Not sure I’d want to go through all that again. Life now seems so much more stable if not a little too sedate at times.
    Pity the guy at the bottom of the pile. Thought evoking pics.

  • Pity the guy at the bottom of the pile. Thought evoking pics.).  MY THOUGHTS:  I would love to go back in time to relive a childhood though I remember mine as quite good.  I am not very adventuresome and was always shy and retiring.  I think the kids of today are very courageous, those who take on an activity that involves working their bodies on bikes or skate boards or any sport.  I’d like to see more of it and wish I could have had the courage to push myself into a sport that would have rid me of a shyness that kept me from doing a lot of things I could have done.  Being a kid is very hard I think you are very right about that and the shyness I felt as a child I have had to fight my whole adult life.  Thanks for taking time to stop by and peek at my photos.  You are appreciated.  Becca

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *