January 10, 2011

  • Weekly Photo Challenge, “Totally Abstract”

    Follow > this Link < to Visit and PLAY with 
    the Weekly Photo Challenge
    The challenge beginning January 7, 2011 is:
    “Totally Abstract”
    suggested by:  WhatAWonderfulNewWorld

    Some subjects need good clear clarification to get the photos for the challenge right.  I did some searching and found some links that were very helpful. 

    From this link:  http://www.ehow.com/facts_5142721_definition-abstract-art.html 

    Definition

  • Abstract art is a very wide genre that contains many, many art forms. Essentially, any art that doesn’t try to realistically portray something, and instead uses texture, colors, shapes or space to represent that thing is considered abstract.
  •  
    A LINK to see examples considered ABSTRACT:  CLICK HERE and another CLICK HERE with 60 images, (some abstract, some still life, and some abstract still life) just click on the arrow on the page to travel through them.
     
    As anyone playing in the challenge has a camera but may not play with editing software, I decided I didn’t want to do anything with software but just go with color, lines and shapes as best as my camera could see it.  The photos may not conform to the definition but its as close as I can do the photos without editing.
     
    My Photos
     
    AbstractS-1_©RSBlain
     
    1- Our cat stands out in this photo with his lines and patchwork texture of his coat and the overall of the photo.  The rusty texture in our bench looks pretty groty.  It needs a good scrape and paint job.
     
    AbstractS-2_©RSBlain
     
    2-  The door mat made from old tires.  Lines, color and texture in the cement beneath it.
     
    AbstractS-3_©RSBlain
     
    3-  This is reflection in a mirrored building.  Lots of lines, color and texture and I actually like the image.  It is only a portion or a cut out from what the camera photo actually is.
     
    AbstractS-4_©RSBlain
     
    4-  A cigarette filter caught in the bushes.  I hate cigarette polution but the filter attracted me and I imagine birds used it in their nest eventually.
     
    AbstractS-5_©RSBlain
     
    5-  I take a lot of photos of water hydrants.  I’m not sure why they catch my eye but they do.  Maybe it is the form, line and color.
     
    AbstractS-6_©RSBlain
     
    6-  A lot of us photograph old barns and buildings.  The dilapidated hodge podge of board and roof are eyecatching and photogenic.  Lots of line and forms and space in this.  I think I would like it in black and white, too.
     
     
    AbstractS-7_©RSBlain
     
    7-  This is probably the only real abstract I actually took with my camera.  It is a night shot on the expressway with my camera speed very slow so catching the bumps in the road and the color of the lights.  It’s fun to do.
     
    After visiting the links and going through the photos on the pages I gave above, I thought most of these would work for the challenge. 
     
    There are times our lives feel abstract and this entry sort of moved me in that direction.
    I hope everyone is staying warm and comfortable.  We are expecting 5 or more inches of snow again this week.  This is a very snowy winter in our area.
    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg
     
     

Comments (2)

  • The pictures 2,3 and 7 are my fav abstracts .
    They are not descriptive but they say something to the observer .

    Good choice , Becca.

    Love
    Michel

  • I like taking pictures of fire hidrants, too. The cigarette fibers one is amazing, I love it.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *