July 3, 2011

  • 4th of July 2011

    Happy 4th of July Xanga

    The 4th of July is a festive day here in the states and rightly so.  As it is a joyous occasion an image that hopefully gives that appearance.

    4thOfJuly-1-2011_RSBlain

    Our bay window is a good spot to put some July 4th color.

    4thOfJuly-1Colorguard-2011_RSBlain

     The Loveland 4th of July parade began, after the police cruisers, with the Colors Guard.

    4thOfJuly-2-2011_RSBlain

     The parade lasted for about a half hour with lots of marchers from children to seniors, many dressed in red,white, and blue.  Many beautiful horses were in this parade, some being ridden and some pulling wagons filled with people.  There were also lots of cruisers and fire trucks.

    4thOfJuly-3-2011_RSBlain

     There is nearly always an Uncle Sam.  The young lady on the right had the winning smile, for me, in the parade.

    4thOfJuly-4-2011_RSBlain

     Brave parents load up wagons filled with their kids waving flags and the colors are so bright you almost can’t see it all.

    4thOfJuly-5-2011_RSBlain

     Lots of families line the streets.

    4thOfJuly-5b-2011_RSBlain

     And there was a good crowd who would go on to the park for the fireworks, after the parade.

    4thOfJuly-5c-2011_RSBlain

     Everyone was dressed in nice neat summer clothes, enjoying the day.

    4thOfJuly-5d-2011_RSBlain

     Beautiful faces, beautiful smiles, beautiful children were everywhere.  The big surprise for the day was there were not one marching band.  All music I heard was canned.  A disappointment for us, we enjoy the school bands and not a single one.  The other disappointment, and I watch carefully for photo taking, I saw not one single salute for the flag, not even for the marching Colorguard at the front of the procession.  I keep hoping its my imagination.

    4thOfJuly-7-2011_RSBlain

    From the parade, we came home and packed a picnic and drove to King’s Island for the fireworks.  They were greatly downgraded in number, began early and were over before many people got there to see them.  I hope labor day weekend will be a better display.  We did, though, have a good weekend ourselves, for the 4th.

    4th of July or Independence Day, read about it here:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Independence_Day_(United_States and http://www.usa.gov/Topics/Independence_Day.shtml

    “Freedom, in a political context, means freedom from government coercion. It does not mean freedom from the landlord, or freedom from the employer, or freedom from the laws of nature which do not provide men with automatic prosperity. It means freedom from the coercive power of the state – and nothing else.” – Ayn Rand

    Hoping everyone had a happy and safe 4th.
    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg 

Comments (19)

  • Happy Fourth of July. Have a great time celebrating your country’s freedom!

  • @badtimin - Thank you so much.  I hope freedom can be and is celebrated with us, in more than my own.  There is so much more that can be said…  but today, I’ll celebrate.  Becca

  • You seem to have stuffed animals for every occasion. ;)

  • @sir_spamalot - STUFFED ANIMALS!!  they add a little fluff to your life and fairly cheap too.  So how was your 4th, I’ll pop over to your site for that answer.  Hoping you had as nice a weekend as I did.  I’ll add a few new photos to this blog from the parade.  So hop back sometime later.  Becca  11

  • Thanks for your comment Becca . i will re-start Xanga soon .Your photos above are bright and colorful . They express well what was the style of this beautiful parade of the 4th July.The firework photo is gorgeous.Love Michel

  • You weave together your pictures and words and give us not just something to view, but to be immersed in.

  • RYC : thanks, Becca , for your comments about our trip in Venice .  This town is really special and we had a good time there as you have guessed .  Did you post on another site ? LoveMichel

  • @fetherland - You always leave such really nice comments.  I really am sorry I am so late in a reply to it.  Thank you so much for reading.  Becca

  • @fauquet - Hi Michel, no, have not posted on another site.  I need to go through my photos to pick out some of the best to upload.  I have so many it’s hard to choose and to be honest, difficult right now to get up the energy.  It’s been so terribly hot here plus the same old difficulties of life.  :)  

  • RYC : Becca , I found a site which may give you an idea of photo posting if you love the cats !! Click here .Love Michel

  • I thank you for the video of the whale liberated from te fishing net . He was really happy !I hope you are well, Becca .Love Michel

  • Please Becca , could you post something . It is sad to not have new post since the beginning of July .I hope you both are in good health . Love Michel

  • Where are the old friends ? Becca .Love mIchel

  • This photographer’s post may interest you. Please click here.In friendshipMichek

  • Miss seeing your posts… I’ve started a new blog by the way…. formerly Sir Spamalot.

  • Thank you Becca for the e.card received today , Valentine’s Day . You are kind .I wish the same for you both.Love Michel

  • Thank you Becca for your lawson Card received for Easter . I hope you got a happy Easter . In France Easter Monday also is holiday. Hopeful you and John are in good shape ; Love Michel

  • You gave up xanga ,Becca .It is sad to say good bye after years of friendship but I will not bother you more.Love Michel

  • Dear Becca,I hope you are well and blogging somewhere else =)I’m leaving here and at all your Xanga blogs I know, my links since Xanga is about to close, so people say.I wouldn’t like to loose your friendship since you were one of the most important person to me on Xanga and by far the most fun and best sport of all, ever! I shall never forget you and what we did on Xanga!Here are my links and I would like very much you consider me your Friend so we could keep in touch!http://whatawonderfulnewworld.wordpress.com/http://whatawonderfulnewworld.blogspot.pt/https://www.facebook.com/isabel.dailyphotosI hope to see you soon wherever you prefer!If not… I still have your e-mail :) GOD BLESS YOUIsabel

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *