October 25, 2010

  • Weekly Photo Challenge, “keychains”

     
    Follow > this Link < to Visit and PLAY with 
    the Weekly Photo Challenge
    It runs for one full week from Friday mornings to late Thursday nights.
     
    The challenge beginning October 15, 2010 is:
    “KeyChains”
    suggested by:  Chatamanda

     

    Keychains are something I’ve never collected.  I do have two sets of keys on keychains.  Because I drive and need to access different doors, I carry both, regularly.  I lost a keychain once.  If it had landed on my toe it would have broken it.  I think that is why I’ve never gotten over the loss as it was so big I still can’t figure just how I lost it and this was years and years ago.

    A photo of my only sets of keys on keychains.

    KeyChain-1_©RSBlain

    1-  My keys are of more importance than my keychain.  The leather keychain is about 45 or more years old.  I made it years ago when first playing with leather.  As you can tell I’m not the most careless when it comes to misplacing things.  I imagine there are not a lot of people with keychains of that age in their pockets.  Both of my chains have tape measures on them and I also carry a small pocket knife and a multi tool that has tiny scissors etc on it.  I figure you never know when you may need to be snipping away on something or other.

    A Photo Story: 

    “The Key to a Chain of Events” 

    KeyToChainOfEvents-75%

    My sister was with us for about two weeks.  The arrangement we made was she came here for a while then we would drive her back home and stay for a while.  The key to the visit is in the photo above, she had something she was excited about that she wanted us to see.  So, when we took Bunny back home we got out the camera the next morning and visited her domain in back of her house and also at the side.  She had designed a potting shed that she had built on the side of her house where there had been a huge willow tree that was destroyed by lightning.  The potting shed is something she has wanted for a long time and the tree being hit was the clue that it was time for the shed.  The photos run in a circle inside the shed and I forgot to take one of the door from the inside.  The Outside is finished but the inside is still a project in the works.  It really is nice.  I could love having one myself.

    Key2ChainOfEvents-1b_©RSBlain

    An from the outside look sort of tells you where I was standing in her lovely sanctuary.  It’s a heavenly spot full of flowers and fruit trees and a vegetable garden in the back.  There are bird houses and feeders all around and birds are plentiful.  It all sits in a sub division filled with little homes and lots of children but its very private and the potting shed makes the spot even more personal.

    I mentioned the above was the “key” and so it was, to the chain of events which always follows a visit with Bunny.  We ate out, shopped favorite spots, took a train ride into Chicago (I’ve never been on a train before) took hundreds of photos of farms and farmland, clouds and shady spots, windmills (a favorite photo target) and even people.  It was a nice time.  I hope to do it again.

    I am aware there are serious keychain collectors in the world.  Here is a major link that may be of interest:  Keychain Collectors International Home

    I hope everyone in Xangaland is well.  Thanks for any visits or comments.

    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg

Comments (6)

  • I also do not have many strange key rings. I like the idea of a photo story.

  • @Zeal4living - Hi, there is a little more to this story in my previous entry for “Backgrounds”.  I was late getting it up because of being away but did put it into the Backgrounds challenge on the WeeklyPhotoChallenge site.  Anyway, more photos on my “BACKGROUNDS” if you want to see them.  Thanks for your visit, I know doing an entry for keychains was harder for me too.  I’m a big collecter of things, just not keychains.  :)   Becca

  • A very nice and informative Post Becca. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Bunny has ceretainly done wonders with her Potting Shed. I see you have changed the background for your site to match Halloween. Its my favourit of all your backgrounds. ~ Tim

  • @tim_beddard - Hi Tim, thanks for finding time to stop.  The pumpkins in my background are a favorite of mine too.  Bunny’s potting shed is a terrific toy for her.  She does a lot of gardening and I am guessing this shed will prolong the seasons for her to play.  She has big plans for the shed. 

  • Glad to see the Bonnie ‘s house ( I remember well your sister ) . Her house is like an heavenly kingdom and the keys are of course of first importance ..

    I liked the game of images  in your second picture.

    Forr the key chain I understand they cannot be too much exciting however I would have liked to get a close up of their “labels” ( the red or yellow things ) . This could be interesting .

    Love
    Michel

  • @fauquet - Hi Michel, actually the labels/tags on the keychains are little membership cards to particular stores.  They are used for savings on purchases.  I seldom do the shopping so don’t use them but John uses them regularly.  He likes saving money :) as do I because the more we save elsewhere, the more I have to spend on my Movies.  Another :) , maybe two :)   :) .

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *