October 29, 2010

  • Weekly Photo Challenge, “Beautiful Views”

     
    Follow > this Link < to Visit and PLAY with 
    the Weekly Photo Challenge
    It runs for one full week from Friday mornings to late Thursday nights.
     
    The challenge beginning October 29, 2010 is:
    “Beautiful Views”
    suggested by me:  PhotoGraphics

     

    The world is a beautiful place in spite of how man attempts to ruin it.  Each and every part of it has something unique to offer in the way of beautiful views, some are grand and some are less demanding of notice.  Here in Ohio, USA, there are wonderful hills and valleys, beautiful parks, caverns, expansive farmland, rivers, lakes, smaller branches and many a blue sky, lots of snow in the north and rain when it chooses to come.  John and I travel within Ohio’s borders most of the time but on occassion we leave Ohio for Illinois crossing the state of Indiana and sometimes during holidays we drive south to Virginia to visit our daughter.  Photos for this challenge are from our most recent trip to my sister’s home in Rockford, Illinois, taken on the road to, from and during our stay there October 2010. 

    It’s fall and leaves are changing and farmlands are golden browns.

    Photos
    Click on them to see larger.

    BeautifulViews-1_©RSBlain

    1- I can get excited about a view even if it isn’t of a recognized landmark.  I saw this view from the distance and thought all the colors were the makings of a beautiful view.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-2_©RSBlain

    2-  I take a lot of farmland photos.  The tilled soil or growing crops are always amazing to me and silos always set a farmland photo off.  Beautiful views are, of course, in the eye of the beholder but to me, this stretch of tilled land I saw in the distance, was a really beautiful view.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-3_©RSBlain

    3-  Bunny always likes to take us on drives of the surrounding countryside and to spots she and Dan enjoy going to.  This particular image is on the return trip from visiting an Amish store and the Amish builder of her potting shed.  I thought the image was beautiful on 4 different levels, 1- its a really beautiful sunshiny day, 2- the bike riders are enjoying themselves on their drive to view the sites, 3- the fall foliage is colorful in this spot and screaming for attention and 4- there are men at work, something a bit scarce in some sectors of the population U.S.A. due to major stupidity by politicals in charge.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-4_©RSBlain

    4-  This is a portion of an image.  I love trees, fall, greens and browns and golds and so, in my mind, this is a particularly beautiful view.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-5_©RSBlain

    5-  In the fall the drives everywhere are colored with the crowns of Autumn.  You can’t help but notice the views if you are awake during the drive.  This beautiful view repeats itself over and over during our fall drives whether it’s in Ohio, Indiana, Illinois or the balance of the 50 states especially in the eastern portion of the country.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-6_©RSBlain

    6-  Another parcel of land turned over before winter sets in.  I love the soft browns that show up at this time of the year making nearly all views, beautiful views.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-7b_©RSBlain

    7-  I never visit my sister without stopping to see the windmills.  This photo is on the drive to Rockford taken as we drove, October 5, 2010.  They are so amazing and to see them with the geese who were flying over was especially beautiful.  What you see is a combination of a flight that has been going on for thousands of years and the coming back in popularity of an innovation that has been being ignored, windmills and windpower.  Illinois has been developing some really wonderful wind farms and I feel a thrill everytime I see them in operation.  If windpower, solar power and waterpower were harnessed across this country as they should be, not wasted but done in a manner protecting the natural resources around them we could eliminate so much of our dependence on oil.  I would call that a blessing and the photo a beautiful view.

     

     

    BeautifulViews-8_©RSBlain

    8- This photo is from the actual visit to the windfarm on October 16, 2010, on our drive back home.  I have never talked with anyone on the property.  Someday I will to tell them how amazing I think windmills are and how beautiful I think the views are everytime I get to see them..

     

    Have a great week everyone and thanks always for visits and comments.

    Canon_DigRebelXTiSig.jpg

     

Comments (4)

  • Your photos are a delight ,Becca , because they are a festival of colors . I like all of them in their diversity . The only one I don’ t like much is the last ;  I think the windmills are spoiling the kandscape .
    Love {}

    Michel

  • @fauquet - Your observation per the windmills is one I’ve heard before.  Yes, they are foreign to the landscape, any and all of them but their intent is for so much good per what we have now.  I see a lot of landscape spoilers where I live, the Wires and poles are an intrusion in most of my photos but I have to tolerate them even though they have the knowledge and ability to put all the cables underground.  For me, the windmills are like hugh birds turning to destroy so much of what is polluting.  I just can’t help but be excited about them.  We all have points of views that might be considered someday in an innovation that will do all we want, give us power without having to look at lots of poles with flailing arms.  I guess we wait and see.

  • I have just read your answer above , Becca ;
    I thank you again for the halloween e. card . You are kind

    Love
    Michel

  • Very nice views indeed… It’s very easy to ignore ones surroundings and the change of seasons… every now and again I’m reminding as I drive that you don’t have to live in a postcard to see beauty around you.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *